American Honey

14 Sep

Isn’t it amazing how a song can conjure up so many memories? That is exactly what happened on my way into work this morning.  I heard “American Honey” by Lady Antebellum and was immediately transported back to my childhood.

Growing up I spent every summer at my grandparents farm on an old dirt road in the middle-of-nowhere Texas.  I always had so much fun, and wouldn’t trade the memories made for anything in the world.

My cousins lived right next door, and with 6 kids there was never a dull moment.  I remember running around barefoot with the smell of freshly cut grass in the air trying to dodge the sticker patches, and riding 4 wheelers through rolling green pastures.  Or the taste of freshly picked blueberries and the melody of chirping cicadas in the trees at twilight that will always be the sound of summer to me.  I will never forget eating watermelons on the front porch and having seed spitting contests, or the way fresh honey tasted when my beekeeping Pop would bring us all a sticky sweet treat right off the waxy comb.

Lazy days were spent fishing in the pond, riding horses, or listening to Mom tell funny stories.  Each day ended with everyone crowded around the dinner table to enjoy a fresh home cooked meal with vegetables picked right out of the garden.

It was a simpler time where all you had to think about was whether or not to wear shoes that day or when to be in for dinner.  They were happy summer days filled with lots of love and laughter.

Every now and again reminiscing helps to regain perspective on what matters most;  family, friends, and the importance of enjoying the small things in life because, more often than not, it is the small things that have the most lasting memories.  Thank you Lady Antebellum for the walk down memory lane.

4 Responses to “American Honey”

  1. Laura September 14, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Belinda shared your post with me and I remember those good times as well! Don’t you wish we could go back just for a little while? Anyway, I love you guys and I’m so happy for you! Love-Laura

    • Life's Kaleidoscope September 15, 2012 at 12:03 am #

      I agree, it would be fun to go back for a bit. We had so much fun!! I think we need a reunion! 🙂 Love ya!

      • Laura September 15, 2012 at 4:33 am #

        That would be so much fun to have a reunion! I love you guys!

      • Life's Kaleidoscope September 27, 2012 at 5:10 am #

        Love you too!! Thanks for following me 🙂

Leave a Reply

