Resolving Resolutions (or getting there)

18 Nov

Thanksgiving is less than a week away!! I can’t believe how fast time has flown by. Before we know it Christmas will have come and gone and it will be time to implement my New Year’s resolutions. I have been doing some research, but I need to get on the ball.

A friend recommended a great free podcast that teaches you to speak Spanish. It’s called Coffee Break Spanish, and its so easy to follow. It’s kinda funny because the two people teaching the lessons are Scottish. So you have these people with really thick Scottish accents teaching you Spanish. I’ve listened to a few lessons already and really enjoyed it. There is also an option to buy more course materials for more visual learners like myself. I still don’t know if it’s going to be the language course I select, but it’s nice to know I have choices. I recommend checking it out if you’re looking to learn Spanish. And I welcome any advice from others who have found courses they liked.

Spanish

I have also been giving some thought to what biographies I would like to read, and have been polling suggestions. Naturally I googled the top best selling biographies, and one that caught my eye was Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand.Its the story of an air force lieutenant who was one of three survivors of a plane crash that left him stranded in the Pacific Ocean for days only to be taken as a POW of the Japanese military. I actually saw an episode of shark week that told this very intriguing story, and the book came highly recommended by my mother in law. I think this and Steve Jobs’ biography are on my list, but I’m still taking suggestions. Any advice?

The one resolution I have been considering the most, however, is the commitment to do no less than 10 minutes of cardio 5 days a week. Especially after three weeks of travel, unhealthy eating, and virtually no exercise other than walking the Vegas strip in one day. I. feel. worthless.

The whole point of committing to this particular resolution is to improve consistency right? That is why I chose 10 minutes. I mean, let’s be honest, no matter how tired, unmotivated, or blah you feel 10 minutes of activity is easy peasy. Whether you choose to hop on the treadmill, go for a quick dip in the pool, or take a brisk walk, 10 minutes is nothing.

I have decided to conduct an experiment, and I have recruited my best friend Kate over at Hesson Haus to join me. I know how easy it can be to incorporate this amount of sustained cardio activity into my schedule everyday, but I was curious about what type of results I could actually achieve when it comes to weight loss. I have decided to monitor these results for a span of 30 days.

So here are the rules:

  • During this time I will do NO MORE, but NO LESS than 10 minutes of cardio activity every single day. I will try incorporate some weight training when I can, but the commitment of cardio will be consistent. That is the point after all.
  • I will weigh myself once a week. I have a very handy scale that measures weight, body fat percentage, and muscle mass. I will also monitor any changes in my body measurements.
  • Kate & I will post results each week. Accountability is a great motivator, and having a partner helps to ensure success.

I hypothesize that, for me, the difference in the numbers I see on the scale will be minimal, as in no more than a 5 pound weight loss. I believe it takes a more rigorous routine to see big results, but it takes consistency to maintain those results. I also predict that my overall feeling of well being will improve, and being healthy and feeling good is the most important thing.

My goal in this experiment is to develop a routine that will make it easier for me to stick to my resolution, and more importantly help to establish a lifelong routine of a healthy active lifestyle. Hopefully, it serves to inspire others along the way. All it takes is 10 minutes. Join us! And link back to this post if you want!  The Countdown begins Monday!

exercise

4 Responses to “Resolving Resolutions (or getting there)”

  1. Estelline Owens November 20, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    Good luck! Happy Thanksgiving! Love you, Mom & Pop

  2. KH November 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    I’m on it! I’ll post tomorrow so we can link up our efforts. So ready for this semester to be over! Ugh!

    Hasta mañana! (Not really)
    KH

Leave a Reply

