“It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas….”

29 Nov

We are finally all settled into our new casa, and just in time with Christmas fast approaching!!  I love the holiday season, and Christmastime is my favorite.  I always get especially nostalgic with the smells of cinnamon, pine, and gingerbread floating in the air.  I love how all the twinkly lights instill a warm cozy feeling even though the air outside is crisp.  And the sounds of Bing Crosby singing “White Christmas” always makes my heart grow three sizes.

When you travel cross country as frequently as we do it isn’t really reasonable to lug  a bunch of Christmas decorations along.  So to avoid a hefty price tag, we had to be creative, and take advantage of the wonderful sales going on at Michael’s.  (It’s a good thing since we used 1200 lights for our tree!!)  We chose to keep our tree simple with poinsettias, pine cones, and a big bow topper (which I made myself!)  One of my favorite traditions has become to collect an ornament or two from all the places we have traveled to, and I was excited to finally be able to add some to our tree this year!!

A Christmas Cable Car

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We found these at The Christmas Store in Gig Harbor, WA

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mele Kalikimaka

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We found our most perfect tree on the eve of  Thanksgiving (I know, I know “It’s not even Thanksgiving.” )  It happened to be the most convenient option for us, and in my defense we didn’t actually decorate until after Thanksgiving.  After we hauled our 8.5 foot Oregonian Douglas Fir up 2 flights of stairs we were so glad we didn’t go for a bigger tree.  With 1/2 a foot of space left from the top it could not have been a more perfect fit.

I’m still working on a centerpiece for our table, and maybe a few other decorations, but it’s beginning to feel a lot more like Christmas!!  I hope everyone has a happy holiday season!!

Leave a Reply

