Nothing Ventured Nothing “Lost”: Week 1

4 Dec

8 days down, 23 days to go!!

I set a resolution for next year to maintain at least 10 minutes of cardio 5 days a week in an effort to maintain consistency in activity.  A week ago I began an experiment to see what type of results I could achieve with no less, but no more than 10 minutes of cardio exercise everyday for 30 days.  I wanted to prove how much being consistent plays a role in weight loss, and to establish a routine that would make it easier for me to stick to my New Year’s resolution.  I promised to “weigh in” each week so here are my results from the first week.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ventured

Normally I prefer to workout first thing in the morning.  I like to get it out of the way, and I love how energized it makes me feel.  Besides, I’m usually so exhausted by the end of the day that the last thing I want to do is work out.  I started the week out like this with good intentions, but Thursday, Friday, and Saturday I just felt like sleeping in so I made up my own 10 minute cardio routine that I did as soon as I got home from work.

My week looked something like this:

Monday

* 2 minute warm up on treadmill, 10 minutes at 5 mph, no incline

Tuesday

* The same treadmill workout as Monday

* Light strength training: arms & chest

  •  Hammer curls; 3 sets of with 10 lbs. weights, 12 reps each
  • Chest press; 3 sets at 40 lbs., 12 reps each

Wednesday

* See previous cardio workouts

* Strength training: shoulders & back

  • Lat pull down; 3 sets at 40 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Seated Row; 3 sets at 40 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Delt Raises; 3 sets at 10 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Shoulder Press; 3 sets at 10 lbs., 12 reps each

Thursday

I made up my own 10 minute cardio routine that required no equipment.

  • Jumping jacks, high knee jog in place, side squats with hop sequence, scissor skier, and jump rope

I alternated between each exercise performing each for 30 second intervals until I had completed a full 10 minutes.  I then finished with a quick 5 minute ab routine.  I really like this 8 minute ab workout.  It’s robotic so I mute the sound, blast my Britney, and just watch the routine.

Friday and Saturday I repeated my Thursday routine, and after weigh in this morning I was motivated to push myself a bit harder when it comes to strength training.

Sunday

* Cardio: Elliptical level 8, 5 minutes forward, 5 minutes backward.

* Strength training: Legs

  • Leg extensions (quads); 3 sets at 50 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Seated hamstring curls; 2 sets at 50 lbs., 1 set at 55 lbs., 15 reps each
  • Leg press; 1 set at 70 lbs., 2 sets at 90 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Calf raises; 2 sets at 35 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Squats; 3 sets holding one 8 lb. weight in front of me, 12 reps each
  • Lunges; 2 sets holding 8 lb. weight in each hand, 12 reps each

* 8 minute ab routine incorporating weights and swiss ball

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lost

When I stepped on the scale yesterday morning I was a little disappointed to see that I had actually gained a pound.  I am well aware that it is common to gain some weight when you initially start a new exercise program.  There are several reasons why this may happen ranging from caloric intake and types of food you are eating to water retention related to glycogen storage and even sleep patterns.  I even found some great articles that explain in simple terms why this happens.  You can read about them here, here, here, & here. But it’s still a little discouraging when you’re seeking instant gratification.

However, instead of letting it hold me back, I chose to let it motivate me.  I am going to keep going, and I have resigned myself to practicing a little patience.  I decided to incorporate a little more strength training and tweak my diet a little. I tend to eat fairly healthy.  We are pescatarian so we get a variety of tons of veggies and fruits, and for the most part we cook most meals at home.  But if I’m honest there was that piece of pecan pie and chocolate chip cookie at work. (Damn you holidays!!).  And the animal style grilled cheese with fries from     In-N-Out didn’t help either. 😉

In one week my overall weight went from 138.6 lbs to 139.8 lbs.  My overall body fat percentage went from 28.9% to 29.5% and my muscle mass went from 36.1% to 35.8%.  All of my body measurements remained the same.  I am proud that I stuck to working out every single day, and I feel great.  I have my workout routine for the next 7 days prepared, and I am going to try to make better food choices so here’s to hoping for more positive results next week!!

Leave a Reply

