Nothing Ventured Nothing “Lost”: Week 2

9 Dec

alittleeffortgoesalongway

14 days down,  16 days to go!!

Well I have reached the halfway point in this little experiment, and I have to say it has proven to be quite beneficial.  Not only have I lost fat and gained muscle, I adequately prepared myself for our recent bike across the Golden Gate Bridge, which otherwise would have been much, MUCH more painful.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ventured

Here is what my week looked like:

Monday

* Cardio: 2 minute warm up on treadmill; 10 min. at 5.5 mph, alternating 60        second intervals at an incline of 5 every 2 minutes

Tuesday

* Cardio: 2 minute warm up on treadmill; 10 min. at 5.5 mph, alternating 60        second intervals at an incline of 5 every 2 minutes

* Strength training: arms & chest

  • Bicep curls; 3 sets at 10 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Tricep curls; 3 sets at 20 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Chest Press; 3 sets at 40 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Chest fly; 1 set at 20 lbs., 2 sets at 30 lbs, 12 reps each

* Abs: 25 crunches on swiss ball; weighted side bends 20 lbs., 2 sets of 20 reps on each side; 5 minute ab routine (I just used exercises from the 8 min. ab video)

Wednesday

* Cardio: 2 minute warm up on treadmill; 10 min. at 5.5 mph, alternating 60        second intervals at an incline of 5 every 2 minutes

Thursday

*Cardio: 10 minutes on elliptical, setting on fat burn

*Strength training:  shoulders & back

  • Lat pull down; 3 sets at 40 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Seated Row; 3 sets at 40 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Lat Press; 3 sets at 20 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Delt Raises; 3 sets at 15 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Shoulder Press; 3 sets at 20 lbs., 12 reps each

* Abs: 30 crunches on swiss ball; weighted side bends 20 lbs., 2 sets of 20 reps on each side; 5 minute ab routine (I just used exercises from the 8 min. ab video)

Friday

Ok….er….um…see what happened was…. well, I forgot to workout.  It’s the God’s honest truth!!  It was Friday, I had a marathon week at work (which I think could probably be considered a workout in and of itself), and when I got home it completely slipped my mind.  I didn’t realize until much later on that I had skipped my ten minutes.  Maybe my body was trying to tell me I needed to rest.  (That is what I am going to tell myself ;-))  Anyway, I didn’t feel quite as bad knowing what I had in store for me on Saturday.

Saturday

*Cardio:  Biking the Golden Gate Bridge.  We rented bikes near Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco, and biked to the Golden Gate Bridge, across it, and down into Sausalito.  Then after taking a ferry ride back to the city we biked another 2 miles back to the bike rental shop.  All in all it was about 11 miles total, and there were a number of fairly steep hills to traverse.  I definitely think doing cardio everyday for the past two weeks helped make this trip a lot easier.  It was a wonderful experience, and there will be a post to come with lots of fun pics!!

Sunday

* Cardio: 10 minutes on elliptical, setting on fat burn

* Strength training: arms & chest

  • Bicep curls; 3 sets at 20 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Tricep curls; 3 sets at 20 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Chest Press; 3 sets at 30 lbs., 12 reps each
  • Chest fly; 3 sets at 30 lbs, 12 reps each

* Abs:  8 minute abs routine

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lost

So last week was a little discouraging.  Despite the fact that I understand it is normal to gain some weight when starting a new routine, it still sucks to get on the scale and see those types of results.  This morning, however, I am proud to say those results were a little more positive.

In one week my overall weight went from 139.8 lbs to 139.4 lbs.  Not much I know, but hey baby steps right?  Besides the following results were a little more encouraging.  My overall body fat percentage went from 29.5% to 29.2% and my muscle mass went from 35.8% to 36.1%.  All of my body measurements remained the same.

I calculated it out and that means I lost a 1/2 lb of pure fat!  Hey, you’ve gotta start somewhere, and I’ll take it.  If you think about it, all things being equal, if I maintained this easy plan, I could lose half the amount of fat on my body in less than a year!

I have noticed other changes as well.  I feel a lot more energized, and I think more clearly.  I sleep a whole lot better than I did, and I feel my mood is lighter.  I’m also starting to look forward to working out instead of it feeling like a chore.  I’m motivated and that is exactly what I need to keep going.

Leave a Reply

